Wk 4- Art Experience- Graffiti Writing

For this week’s art experience, we were told to spray paint our names and make it look like graffiti. Although I was not able to go to Venice Beach and spray paint on the wall, I got a big piece of cardboard and was able to spray paint my name on that. I actually had a lot of fun doing this project. Even though it was a lot harder than I thought it would be as I made a few mistakes and had to fix them, I enjoyed the challenge. For my graffiti piece, I used the colors blue, white, and orange. The reason I chose those colors are because they are the colors of my high school that I went to and after four years of going there, I really like those colors now. This art piece  took longer than I expected because after doing each color, I had to wait for the paint to dry before I could do the next color because I did not want the colors to mix. I also had to do more than one layer for some colors which took even more time because it did not come out the way I wanted it to and I wanted the letters to stand out.  But in the end, this was my first time doing graffiti and after doing this, I think I am going to continue to practice graffiti art because I really liked it and plan to challenge myself more by spray painting something other than just my name.

Leave a Reply

