WK 7-Artist Conversation-Andrea Williams

Artist: Andrea Williams

Exhibition: Sacrifice

Media: Ceramics, Raw Clay, Cement, Mason Stain

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery West

Website: http://mrsdubbayoo.weebly.com/

Instagram: @Andreawilliammms

For this week’s artist conversation, we got to meet with artist Andrea Williams. Williams is currently an undergraduate at California State University of Long Beach in the Ceramics program for the CSULB School of Art. While growing up in Riverside, art and music had always been in her family. It was not until her 20s though that she got into painting and drawing. Andrea’s work explores the idea of sacrifice of not a particular faith, but of a woman’s body and time. One thing that I learned about her that I thought was really cool is that she actually used to be in a band where she played the drums. Some other interests of hers are that she really loves pigs, dogs, chickens, and her baby at home.

Andrea Williams’s art is gestural, textural loose, and you can tell it is hand made. She tries not to smooth out the finger prints because she wants the viewers to know she made it with her own hands. The two main materials she uses for her art pieces include ceramic and cement, but she also uses mason stains for color. In her work, the main repetition is that she focuses on is the texture and the gesture of her pieces. Overall, her work is very religious and portrays her Christianity.

Williams’s art work is not your typical religious art pieces. When talking about it, she explained it as “religion with a twist.” With her work, she hopes the viewer questions religion and makes them question art. She tries to portray through her work the sacrifice of women with their body and time. She can relate to this because she has a child and understands the struggles of being a mother.

Overall, I really liked Andrea Williams’s art work and the message she was trying to portray. Although I may be a man so I cannot relate to the sacrifice of being a mother, I do understand how sacrifice can have an effect on a person’s body and time. In sports, I sacrifice my body all the time. I know that there may be consequences if I do so, but I also know that if I sacrifice my body, it could lead to a great that will help my whole team. Through Andrea’s art, she tries to get people to understand the sacrifices that women have to make and how important it is. With her handmade art style, I believe her message is delivered.

Leave a Reply

